Involved In A Hit And Run In Illinois?
If you are involved in an accident in Illinois and the other driver flees the scene, leaving you injured, then you don’t have to face the insurance companies alone. A hit and run Illinois is considered to be a crime in the state so you should get legal aid immediately after.
Here Is What You Should Do First…
- Don’t leave the scene before calling the police. If it is safe to do so, remain at the scene of the accident and wait for them to arrive. Leaving before that may make them doubt your story later.
- Do not go after the fleeing driver. Besides being extremely dangerous, you may miss key witnesses who can corroborate your story.
What Drivers Need To Do Post Accident
As per the Illinois Vehicle Code, drivers of any vehicle that are involved in a car accident are required by law to:
- Stop their vehicle at the scene of the accident and as close to it as possible.
- Provide their personal information such as their name, address, registration number and driver’s license to the other driver.
- Aid any injured people that got caught in the accident.
- File a written report if the accident resulted in death or injury or property damage that amounts to more than $1500.
The report form is provided by the officer who reports to the scene, but you can also get it at any police station or sheriff’s office. It has to be filed online or via snail mail within 10 days following the accident otherwise your license may be suspended.
Fines and Penalties
Besides getting your license suspended, negligent drivers also have to pay hefty fines and face jail time.
- If you fail to call the police after getting into an accident, you will have to pay $2500 in fines or spend a year in jail.
- If a driver flees the scene and does not return within the first half an hour, he/she can face a $25,000 fine or spend three years in jail. If the property damage is severe enough, your license may be suspended as well.
- If a hit and run accident causes bodily harm or injuries, it will be considered a felony. If the driver does not assist the injured party, he/she can face one or three years in jail. If the individual dies, they can also face a longer prison sentence.
Whether you are involved in a hit and run Schaumburg or are searching for a reliable car accident lawyer in Illinois who can get you the compensation you deserve, get in touch with our attorneys through IAmCallingMyLawyer.com. We have over 50 years of combined experience in handling such cases and know how to win.